Standards Organizations
Additional Documentation

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
ANSI does not develop standards but accredits and coordinates qualified standards development groups. ANSI also coordinates US participation in international arenas and is the official US representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

Association for Information and Image Management (AIIM)
AIIM is a trade association for users and suppliers of content, document and process management technologies. Its membership includes many hardware manufacturers of storage, scanning and micrographics technologies. Its standards arm is an ANSI-accredited standards developer in the area of micrographics and electronic imaging.

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO is a federation of national standards organizations from roughly 130 countries. ISO develops international standards via a hierarchy of technical committees (TCs), subcommittees (SCs) and working groups. Some technical committees of interest to digital libraries are JTC1 Information Technology, TC42 Photography, and TC46 Information and Documentation.

International Telecommunications Union (ITU)
The ITU has a standards arm, ITU-T which develops "recommendations" in the areas of voice and data communications. These include X.25 (packet switching), X.28 (ASN.1), and the X.500 directory specification.

National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
NISO is an ANSI-accredited standards developer in the area of libraries, primary and secondary publishing, and information services. NISO develops and/or promotes standards in many areas relevant to digital library applications including identifiers (ISBN, DOI, etc.), protocols (Z39.50, circulation interchange), and metadata.

The Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards, is an international industry consortium dedicated to accelerating the adoption of product-independent formats based on public standards including HTML, SGML, and XML. While OASIS does not develop standards itself, it does issue guidelines to facilitate product interoperability.

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
The W3C develops "recommendations" related to use of the World Wide Web, including HTML, XML, metadata, and stylesheets (CSS and XSL). The W3C's Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) has produced a number of guidelines for the development of websites and web-based applications accessible to users with visual, hearing, physical, or cognitive disabilities.

World Standards Services Network (WSSN)
The WSSN maintains a portal to international, regional, and national standards organizations.